Back to Meeting & Groups

Gender Equality Advisory Council

The UK has committed to putting gender equality and fairness at the heart of our G7 Presidency. The Gender Equality Advisory Council (GEAC), an independent panel, is bringing fresh ideas and new voices to the heart of G7 discussions to galvanise our ambitions on gender equality and ensure the Presidency delivers for women.

The GEAC is an independent group of experts who were convened by Prime Minister Boris Johnson under the UK’s G7 Presidency. The GEAC is responsible for championing the core principles of freedom, opportunity, individual humanity and dignity for women and girls around the world.

The GEAC published its recommendations for G7 Leaders on 11 June 2021, which can be found here. Chair Sarah Sands and GEAC member Dr Denis Mukwege presented the recommendations to Leaders at the Cornwall Summit. The GEAC published its full report in October 2021, available here.

Full List of Members:

  • Sarah Sands (Chair), former editor of the Evening Standard and BBC R4’s Today programme
  • Alice P. Albright, CEO of the Global Partnership for Education
  • Prof. Jutta Allmendinger, President of the WZB Berlin Social Science Centre and Professor of Sociology at Humboldt University Berlin
  • Hon Julie Bishop, Former Foreign Minister for Australia
  • Prof. Iris Bohnet, Professor of Public Policy and co-director, Women and Public Policy Program, Harvard University
  • Ursula M. Burns, former CEO of Xerox and leader of the White House STEM programme
  • Dr Fabiola Gianotti, physicist, Director-General, CERN
  • Prof. Sarah Gilbert, Lead researcher at Oxford University for the coronavirus vaccine
  • Isabelle Hudon, President and CEO of the Business Development Bank of Canada
  • Dr (H.C.) Ritu Karidhal, Deputy Operations Director to India’s Mars Orbiter Mission, Mangalyaan
  • Bogolo J. Kenewendo, Economist and former Minister of Investment, Trade and Industry in Botswana
  • Prof. Reiko Kuroda, Professor of Chemistry & Biology at Chubu University and winner of the L’Oreal-UNESCO award for Women in Science
  • Dr Dambisa Moyo, Global economist and co-principal of Versaca Investments
  • Dr Denis Mukwege, gynaecologist, human rights activist and Nobel Peace laureate
  • Marie-Christine Saragosse, President and CEO of France Médias Monde
  • Emma Sinclair MBE, Tech entrepreneur and CoFounder of EnterpriseAlumni
  • Dr Aldijana Šišić, Chief of the UN Trust Fund to End Violence against Women (UN Women)
  • Dame Rachel de Souza, Children’s Commissioner for England
  • Jessica Woodroffe, W7 Co-Chair and Director of Gender and Development Network